
SOUTHEAST REGION SUMMARY SETTLEMENT AND FIX-IT SCHEDULE 

VIOLATION VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT 
FIRST SECOND THIRD 

 
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT  

 
Undersized and/or Filleted and/or over limit (including zero 
bag limit and closures) 
 

   

1-10 illegal fish $250 + $25 per 
fish (refer to 
State LEA 
whenever 
possible) 

$250 + $25 per fish 
(refer to State LEA 
whenever possible) 

$250 + $25 per fish 
(refer to State LEA 
whenever possible) 

 
 
11-20 illegal fish 
 

 
$500 + $25 per 

fish 

 
$500 + $25 per fish 

 
$500 + $25 per fish 

21 - 50 illegal fish $750 + $25 per 
fish $750 + $25 per fish $750 + $25 per fish 

Exceed Commercial  Trip Limits (including zero bag 
limit commercial closures) (except ITQ)    

The overage exceeds the catch limit by less than 50% OR has a 
fair market value up to $500 $500 $750 $1000 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND 
has a fair market value of between $500 and $750  $750 $1,000 $1,250 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND  
has a fair market value between $751 and $1,000 $1,000 $1,250 $1,500 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND 
has a fair market value between $1,001 and $1,250 $1,250 $1,500 $1,750 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND 
has a fair market value between $1,251 and $1,500 $1,500 $1,750 $2,000 

Trawling    
Texas closure (Incursion less than 1 NM or less than 1 hour 
before opening date and time): First Violation Only $2,500 NA NA 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 



Southwest Florida seasonal trawl closure:  First Violation Only $2,500 NA NA 
Shrimp/Stone Crab separation zone:  First Violation Only $2,500 NA NA 
 
Non-Compliant Trap Construction: 1 - 20 traps  

 
$100/trap 

 
$100/trap 

 
$100/trap 

Non-Compliant Net construction  $500/net $750/net $750/net 
Bycatch reduction device (BRD) - not installed, sewn shut, 
dysfunctional $750/net $750/net $750/net 

Act Without  a Permit/limited Entry  
Share/Endorsement/Authorization (not to include 
shareholder and/or vessel allocation)  
(Dealers & Fishermen & Vessels) 

   

Moratorium Permits:  First Violation Only where the permit 
was never issued  $3,000 NA NA 

Limited Access and Expired Moratorium Permits $750 $1,000 $1,500 
General/Open Access Permits   $500 $500 $500 
Dealer Failure to Report after receipt of 

notification of 
late reporting 
$750 for each 
overdue time 

period charged 
up to 6 time 
periods; this 

category can be 
used again after 
1 year without 
same charged 

violation 

$1,000 for each 
overdue time period 

charged up to 6 
time periods 

 

$1,500 for each 
overdue time period 
charged overdue up 

to 4 time periods 

 
Fish Without an Observer When Required:  First Violation 
Only 
  

$2,500 NA NA 

Use unauthorized gear or fail to use gear required by the fishery, 
e.g. dehooking device and/or non-stainless steel circle hooks  $250 $500 $500 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 



ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT 
Turtle Excluder Device Violations 

(Although law enforcement should document and educate on all violations they could issue only one summary settlement amount 
per net based on the most serious violation found on that net.  For example: If law enforcement found 3 level one violations on 
net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for $100 for net 1.  If law enforcement found 2 level one violations and 1 level two 
violation on net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for $500 for net 1.) 
Any Level I violations including: 
 
TED ANGLE  > 55 to < 58 degrees  
 
BAR SPACING Bent bar - > 4” to < 6” 
 
WEBBING FLAP NETTING   Hole / gaps in TED netting  2” 
to 4” 
 
DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING 
1  Forward Cut 19” to < 20”  
2 Flap attachment > 24” to 36”  
3 OVERLAP  > 15 to 16”  
4 Leading Edge Cut 54” to < 56”   
 
71” OPENING 
1 Forward Cut:    18” to < 26”  
2 Flap length:  > 24” to 36” beyond posterior edge of grid  
3 flap attachment: > 6” to 12” beyond posterior edge of grid 
4 Leading edge Cut: 54” to < 71”  
5 Escape opening: 64” to < 71” 
 
44” INSHORE OPENING 
5 Escape Opening 42” to < 44” Horizontally  
   15” to < 20” Vertically 
 
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA’s Guide for 
Checking TEDs, available at 
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm) 

$100 (per net) $100 (per net) $100 (per net) 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 

http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm


Any Level II violations including: 
 
TED ANGLE  58 to < 61 degrees 
 
BAR SPACING Bent bar – 6” to < 8” 
 
WEBBING FLAP NETTING   Holes/gaps in TED  
     netting > 4” 
 
FLOTATION Undersized floats on bottom shooting 
   TEDs 
 
DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING 
 
1 Forward Cut  16” to < 19” 
2 Flap attachment > 36” 
3 OVERLAP  > 16” to < 18”  
4 Leading Edge Cut 52” to < 54” 
 
71” OPENING 
 
1 Forward Cut  16” to < 18” 
2 Flap length  > 36” beyond posterior edge of grid 
3 Flap attachment > 12” beyond posterior edge of grid 
4 Leading edge cut 52” to < 54” 
5 Escape Opening 44” to < 64” 
 
 
44” INSHORE OPENING 
 
5 Escape Opening 34” to < 42” Horizontally 
   10” to < 15” Vertically 
 
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA’s Guide for 
Checking TEDs, available at: 
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm) 

$500 (per net) $500 (per net) $500 (per net) 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 

 

http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm

